Cumbernauld Colts celebrate players’ efforts

Written by Scott Campbell, Cumbernauld Media's Senior Reporter.

Published at 16:38 on 12 July 2015

Cumbernauld Colts

Picture: Scott Campbell for Cumbernauld Media.

SEVENTEEN promising young footballers had their hard work on the pitch and dedication to their team off the field recognised last month at a special awards ceremony.

The Cumbernauld Colts, the team which was recently admitted to the Lowland League, were all too happy and proud to show off their budding young stars at their annual awards ceremony.

Held at the town’s Broadwood Stadium, on June 11th, the Colts’ awards ceremony is held every year, and is a chance for each of the team’s age sections, supporters and family members to celebrate the club’s achievements, as well as the efforts put in by players.

Over two hours, the various age-appropriate sections of the club’s ever-growing ranks were marched out onto the Broadwood Stadium pitch, by the club’s mascot, to deafening applause.

Once proceedings got underway, each section’s players were called to the stage one-by-one to receive either an award, a certificate or a medal from a member of the club’s management team, as well as a congratulations from Celtic left back, Charlie Mulgrew.

Taking home Player of the Year, 2014-15 in the under 17’s category was Michael McGarahan and Cammy McKay, while the section voted Connor McAtear as their Players’ ‘Player of the Year, 2014-15’.

Jack McKenna took home the ‘Player of the Year’ award for the under 17’s (Community) section of the Colts, while Craig Shields was backed by his fellow team-mates as their Players’ Player of the Year.

In the under 16’s section of the club, Mitchell Taylor was chosen as Player of the Year, while Thomas McLaughlin was voted the ‘Players’ Player of the Year’.

Baily Milne, from the under 15’s section of the Cumbernauld Colts won the Player of the Year award, while Luke Scullion was selected by his fellow players as their Players’ Player of the Year.

Taking home the Players’ Player of the Year award from the under 14’s Cumbernauld Colts section was Lee O’Hara and Andrew Tonner, while their team-mates Max Ballantyne and Danny Veitch both won Player of the Year awards. 

Ben Doris won the Player of the Year award and was joined by his team-mate, Darren Farmer, who was voted the Players’ Player of the Year, by the under 13’s (blue) section.

In the under 13’s (yellow) section, Cameron Joyce won Player of the Year, and Sean Paul Spiers took home the Players’ Player of the Year. 

The club’s award ceremony came after news late last month that the Cumbernauld Colts had been admitted to the Lowland League, after one of the five clubs who initially applied had withdrawn during the application process.

The upcoming season will see 15 teams compete for the Lowland League title and a shot at promotion to Scottish League Two, with the Colts lining up former Dunipace Junior Football Club management duo, Craig McKinlay and James Orr, to take forward their league ambitions.

Commenting after the awards ceremony, Stewart McKenzie, the club’s Chairman said that the club presentation had “provided an opportunity for everyone involved in the club, up to and including the under 17 age groups, to celebrate their efforts over the season.”

With over 450 children and their parents in attendance it is a great way for the club to showcase its achievements and highlight the extent of its community involvement,” he explained.
The Cumbernauld Colts FC were founded in 1969 becoming the town’s first youth football club; rapidly growing throughout the 70s and 80s, becoming part of Cumbernauld’s rich heritage and producing players who made the jump to professional flourished, with names such as Derek Whyte and Jackie McNamara amongst them.

Growing from strength to strength, lately, the Cumbernauld Colts were awarded Quality Mark Legacy status - the highest award available through the Scottish FA Quality Mark accreditation scheme – in 2013, with the club now boasting 22 teams among its ranks.

Stewart added: “These comments were echoed by Celtic and Scotland international, Charlie Mulgrew, who came along to present the medals. Charlie said that he was "bowled over" by the size of the club and by the great things that were happening in the football world at Broadwood.
The Club’s Vice Chairman, Martin Doogan, added: “It was a great way to end the season and that the players and officials could now look forward to a well-earned break before doing it all again next year, starting with the club's annual festival on the 8th and 9th of August!"

View our gallery of the awards ceremony below. All of the pictures used are copyright of Scott Campbell for Cumbernauld Media.